Slide to see the images

Chunky Monkey

Mastiff

 
Medium  |  Male

Los Banos, CA

$175.00

 

Hello my name is Chunky! I am a hunk of love when it comes to my personality. I am a year young, full of energy and spunk, but not too hyper to listen. I thrive with a leader, and do well with those that can teach me the do’s and don’ts of society. I came to Kate’s rescue when I was very young, about 8 weeks of age. My previous owners had dumped me in a field and left me for dead! I had a terrible skin condition that nearly killed me, and made me less than appealing in appearance. But Kate’s found me and took me in. The rescue director personally nursed me back to health in her home and I grew like a weed! I love her dearly, but I dream of the day I find a couch of my own with a family I do not have to share with other foster siblings. I have been looking for a year for my family, with no such luck.

I am a handsome boy, can’t you tell?! I weight over 70 pounds with a stocky body that just adds to my appeal. I am fostered in a home with other dogs of all sizes, and even cats. For the last year I have been fine with them but recently my behaviors have changed. Due to this I would do better in a home with no cats, or smaller dogs, and only big dogs like me. I would love to have a fur sibling close to my size and age to play with. A calmer male or even better a female would be ideal. I love calmer kids, given I have been in foster so long I am not familiar with anything outside of my foster home and scare very easily. Older children of 7 and up that understand I might get scared and bark are recommended, if any at all. I do great with them, just might scare them if they scare me.

I am potty trained, I know better than to go in the house. I love to sleep in the bed if you let me, and cuddle all night long. I love to go for walks, and I walk perfectly on a leash. I am a bit timid in new places alone, but with a furry companion or a human to let me know it is ok I do just fine. I behave very well in the car, but do not like visiting new areas currently. Though once I am used to traveling and learn it is safe that could change. I am neutered, up to date on all my vaccinations and microchiped.

My ideal human would be a female, I am a bit timid with men and quick movements. I am used to my fosters home and routines so anything new makes me very unsure. I am not a biter when I am scared, I bark and try to run away, but if cornered and forced to confront something scary I might bite.

I need a human that will be my service human, to help my anxiety and teach me the world outside of my foster home bubble is not as scary as it seems. My human must have patience with me. Yelling scares me, and if you scare me I do not want to come to you. So lots of soft calm tones and hugging to help me feel comfortable is needed. I would make an amazing companion animal for a woman living on her own. I am being babysat on a farm, and it is too much for me out here. So city living might be best where I cannot see through my fence at the scary world.

Wont you please help me find my forever home? If you think I might fit your family please contact this page, or Kate’s Rescue for Animals directly and be sure to tell them Chunky sent you!

Adopt Me
Los Banos, CA

There are no reviews

Log in to add a review

More Like This

Mastiff

2 years
 

Inverness, FL

$2000.00

Mastiff

6 years, 5 months
Large

Whitestone, NY

$225.00

Mastiff

 
X-Large

Anniston, AL