Slide to see the images

Helen

Boxer

5 years, 10 months
Medium  |  Female

Rayville, LA

$250.00

 

DHS does not have a facility. All of our animals are housed in foster homes. Therefore, we require having a completed adoption application on file before we ask our foster families to rearrange their schedules for a meet and greet or answer individual inquiries. And, please be patient, we are staffed only by volunteers. It may be a few days before you hear from us.


Helen is a wonderful special needs dog. She is both deaf and blind, but has a wonderful quality of life. She is afraid of nothing and barrels her way through life with carefree abandon. She plays, explores and enjoys life to the fullest with few limitations. In fact, most people don't recognize her handicaps at first. She walks great on a leash, is perfectly housetrained (and barks to go out) and loves to snooze in her crate. She makes friends in the dog park with most dogs but occasionally plays too hard and the other dogs avoid her. Helen was in pretty bad shape when we found her, abandoned at a local creek, so her foster mom has let her get a bit too heavy. She needs to have her food limited because she loves her food, treats and toys. Helen is a great dog! Her handicaps are congenital.

All of our adoptable pets are housed with foster families. When age appropriate, they have been spay/neutered, crate, leash and house trained. They have all been living in a family environment so have been evaluated for temperament and personality. We believe that we should know each pet well enough to make sure that when adopted, everyone lives happily ever after.
Since all of our animals are housed with fosters, we ask that you submit a completed application before we answer individual inquiries. Submitting an application never obligates you to adopt but we will have a better understanding of your needs so that we can better answer your questions.

Adopt Me

There are no reviews

Log in to add a review

More Like This

Boxer

2 years, 1 month
 

Nicholls, GA

$800.00

Boxer

2 years, 1 month
 

Nicholls, GA

$700.00

Boxer

5 years, 1 month
Medium

Vacaville, Ca

$100.00